The second leg of the Champions League semi-final between Inter Milan and Barcelona was a tense affair. The first leg was a repeat of the first-leg as the two teams drew 3-3 after 90 minutes of regulation time. Finally, Davide Frattesi scored a golden goal in extra time to help the Milanese team win 4-3. In the end, the Nerazzurri won the right to the final with a total score of 7-6.
After the match, coach Hansi Flick and many Barcelona players spoke out to accuse referee Szymon Marciniak of favoring Inter. However, is that true? Let's take a look at 4 controversial situations in this match and see if the Polish referee handled it correctly.
The ball touched Acerbi's chest and then his hand (Photo: Marca).
Did Acerbi touch the ball in the box?
In the 26th minute, Barcelona complained to referee Marciniak about Inter Milan defender Acerbi's handball in the penalty area. They requested a penalty but the Polish referee refused.
Commenting on this situation, expert Pavel Fernandez told Marca: "Acerbi touched the ball with his hand but before that, the ball hit the Italian midfielder's chest. Therefore, according to FIFA regulations, this situation is not a penalty for Barcelona."
Did Cubarsi foul Lautaro Martinez?
Cubarsi tackles Lautaro Martinez in the penalty area (Getty).
In the 43rd minute, defender Cubarsi tackled Lautaro Martinez in the penalty area. Initially, referee Marciniak did not blow the whistle, but VAR intervened and asked him to review the situation. In the end, the referee changed his decision and awarded Inter a penalty.
Expert Pavel Fernandez was not satisfied with referee Marciniak's decision: "After reviewing this situation 80 times, I did not see any clear contact between Cubarsi and Lautaro. VAR did not handle it correctly. It was not a penalty. If the referee awarded Inter a penalty, Cubarsi would have received a yellow card, but that did not happen."
Was Lamine Yamal fouled inside or outside the penalty area?
Mkhitaryan fouled Yamal outside the penalty area (Photo: Football Insider).
In the 70th minute, Mkhitaryan lost the ball dangerously and was forced to make amends by fouling Yamal. Initially, referee Marciniak pointed to the penalty spot but once again, VAR intervened. Finally, the Polish referee changed his decision because he thought the foul was outside the penalty area.
Talking about this situation, expert Pavel Fernandez shared: "It seems that the first collision between the two players took place outside the penalty area. VAR has determined that. Therefore, this is just a free kick outside the penalty area for Barcelona."
Was Acerbi's equalizer valid?
Dumfries did not foul Gerard Martin before crossing for Acerbi to equalize 3-3 for Inter (Photo: Getty).
In the 90+3 minute, defender Acerbi made the Giuseppe Meazza stadium explode when he scored the equalizer for Inter 3-3. Barcelona players protested because they thought Dumfries had fouled Gerard Martin before crossing the ball for Acerbi to score. Expert Pavel Fernandez also agreed, saying that the Dutch defender did not commit a foul in this situation.
Source: https://dantri.com.vn/the-thao/nhieu-tinh-huong-tranh-cai-o-tran-thua-cay-dang-cua-barcelona-truoc-inter-20250507123440152.htm
Comment (0)